SysadminNews

Intel’s share offering grew beyond the $15B headline

On this page
  1. From proposal to priced shares
  2. Dilution needs a share denominator
  3. Funding does not specify the delivery date

The initial $15 billion proposal is no longer the complete story. Intel subsequently priced a larger offering, and its regulatory filing records the exercise of the additional-share option.

Intel share arithmetic from its pricing announcement and August 12 filing: 210,526,315 base shares plus 31,578,947 option shares = 242,105,262. At $95 each, approximately $23B gross, before costs. The $19.7B net estimate was base-only.
Intel share arithmetic from its pricing announcement and August 12 filing: 210,526,315 base shares plus 31,578,947 option shares = 242,105,262. At $95 each, approximately $23B gross, before costs. The $19.7B net estimate was base-only. Chart : PeopleAreGeek. Data source.
View full-size image

From proposal to priced shares

Intel’s August 10 launch proposed $15 billion of common stock. The pricing announcement increased the base to 210,526,315 shares at $95, approximately $20 billion gross. Its approximately $19.7 billion net estimate excluded the additional-share option.

The August 12 Form 8-K, Item 8.01 says the underwriters exercised their 31,578,947-share option in full on August 11. Base plus option totals 242,105,262 shares; multiplying by $95 gives approximately $23 billion gross, before costs. Do not reuse the base-only $19.7 billion net estimate as the net total including that option.

Dilution needs a share denominator

The cover calculates the two tranches separately. A dollar amount divided by the old share count is not a dilution percentage: it mixes units. First determine the new shares, then compare the appropriate counts.

For a fictional company with 1,000 existing shares and 50 newly issued shares, new/old is 5%. A holder retaining 100 shares moves from 100/1,000 = 10% to 100/1,050 = 9.524%. The relative reduction in that ownership fraction is about 4.762%. These are different calculations, not contradictory answers. This example is not Intel’s actual ownership calculation.

Funding does not specify the delivery date

The stated uses include general corporate purposes, capital expenditures and working capital. That gives financial flexibility, not a site-by-site construction allocation. It does not prove that a particular fab, packaging line or server order gains capacity on a fixed date.

For a hardware procurement decision, connect financing news to a named manufacturing milestone and supplier commitment before changing the schedule. The offering explains a capital transaction; it cannot by itself establish future lead times or the economic return from the projects it may fund.

September 8: update the $15B proposal to $20B pricing and exercised option; distinguish gross/net proceeds and use correct dilution denominators.